ucsf banner
Director's Message | Executive Committee | Staff/Contact | Jobs

executive committee

The ARI Executive Committee consists of representatives from each of the four UCSF schools—medicine, dentistry, nursing, and pharmacy—a representative from each of the main programs and affiliated laboratories which the ARI comprises, and two members elected at large to a two-year term. The committee meets on a bimonthly basis.

Executive Committee Members

Francesca Aweeka, PharmD
Professor of Pharmacy
Director, Drug Research Unit

Susan Buchbinder, MD
Associate Clinical Professor of Medicine & Epidemiology
Director, Bridge HIV (formerly HIV Research Section), San Francisco Department of Public Health

Michael Busch, MD, PhD
Adjunct Professor of Laboratory Medicine
Vice President, Research and Scientific Affairs, Blood Systems, Inc.
Director, Blood Systems Research Institute

Margaret A. Chesney, PhD
Professor of Medicine
Osher Foundation Distinguished Professor in Integrative Medicine
Director, Osher Center for Integrative Medicine

Craig R. Cohen, MD, MPH
Professor of Obstetrics, Gynecology and Reproductive Sciences
Director, Family AIDS Care and Education Services
Director, Reproductive Infectious Disease Fellowship
Co-Director, Infectious Disease Research Training Program

Carol Dawson Rose PhD, RN, FAAN
Associate Professor, Department of Community Health Systems, School of Nursing
Director, Advanced Practice Public Health Nursing

Haile T. Debas, MD
Director, University of California Global Health Institute
Maurice Galante Distinguished Professor of Surgery
Chancellor Emeritus, Dean Emeritus, School of Medicine

James W. Dilley, MD
Clinical Professor of Psychiatry
Director, Alliance Health Project
Vice-Chair, Department of Psychiatry
Chief, Deptartment of Psychiatry at SFGH

Warner C. Greene, MD, PhD
Director and Nick and Sue Hellmann Distinguished Professor of Translational Medicine, Gladstone Institute of Virology & Immunology
Professor of Medicine, Microbiology, and Immunology
Co-Director, UCSF-GIVI Center for AIDS Research

John S. Greenspan, BDS, PhD
Distinguished Professor, Department of Orofacial Sciences, School of Dentistry
Distinguished Professor, Department of Pathology, School of Medicine
Associate Dean for Global Oral Health, School of Dentistry

Diane V. Havlir, MD
Professor of Medicine
Chief, HIV/AIDS Division and Positive Health Program
Principal Investigator, Adult AIDS Clinical Trials Group

Frederick Hecht, MD
Professor of Medicine
Osher Foundation Endowed Chair in Research in Integrative Medicine
Research Director, Osher Center for Integrative Medicine

Jay A. Levy, MD
Professor of Medicine
Director, Laboratory for Tumor and AIDS Virus Research

Marguerita Lightfoot, PhD
Professor of Medicine
Director, Center for AIDS Prevention Studues

Edward Machtinger, MD
Health Sciences Associate Clinical Professor
Director, Women's HIV Program at UCSF

Toby Maurer, MD
Professor of Clinical Dermatology
Chief of Dermatology, San Francisco General Hospital

Joseph M. McCune, MD, PhD
Professor of Medicine
Director, ARI AIDS Biology Program
Chief, Division of Experimental Medicine
Senior Associate Dean of Clinical and Translational Research

Stephen F. Morin, PhD
Professor of Medicine
Director, Center for AIDS Prevention Studies
Director, AIDS Policy Research Center
Director, Policy and Ethics Core, Center for AIDS Prevention Studies

Satish Pillai, PhD
Assistant Professor of Medicine
Chair, Junior Faculty AIDS Researchers (JFAR)

Carmen J. Portillo, PhD, RN, FAAN
Professor & Chair, Department of Community Health Systems, School of Nursing
Co-Director, UCSF International Center for HIV/AIDS Research and Clinical Training in Nursing
Director, UCSF & MUCHS (Tanzania) Schools of Nursing American International Health Alliance Twinning Project

Arthur Reingold, MD
Professor and Division Head, Division of Epidemiology,
UC Berkeley School of Public Health
Director, Fogarty International AIDS Training Program

E. Michael Reyes, MD, MPH
Adjunct Professor of Medicine
Principal Investigator, Pacific AIDS Education and Training Center
Co-Director, I-TECH (International Training & Education Center on HIV)
Principal Investigator, Center of Excellence for Transgender Health

George W. Rutherford, MD
Salvatore Pablo Lucia Professor of Epidemiology, Preventive Medicine, and Pediatrics
Head, Division of Preventive Medicine and Public Health
Vice Chair, Department of Epidemiology and Biostatistics
Director, Prevention & Public Health Group, UCSF Global Health Sciences

Jaime Sepulveda, MD, MPH, DrSc
Executive Director, UCSF Global Health Sciences

Caroline Shiboski, DDS, PhD
Professor, Department of Orofacial Sciences
Director, Stomatology Clinical Center
Director, Oral Medicine Post-Graduate Residency Program
Co-Director, PhD Program in Oral and Cranio-Facial Science

Paul A. Volberding, MD, Director
Professor, Department of Medicine
Director of Research, UCSF Global Health Sciences
Co-Director, UCSF-GIVI Center for AIDS Research

Diane W. Wara, MD
Professor of Pediatrics
Chief of Pediatric Immunology/Rheumatology
Program Director, Pediatric Clinical Research Center


Home | About | Programs | News & Events | Science | Donate | Contact

Copyright © 2013, The Regents of University of California

Print version

This site will look much better in a browser that supports web standards, but it is accessible to any browser or Internet device. Please upgrade your browser.